A New Beginning

It has been just over a year since I last blogged. Due to this long length of time and the myriad of changes in my life during that time, I have decided I needed a new space in which to write. My old blog has been retired: http://riseandmeettheday.blogspot.com/

So here we have it, my new blog: Only small things.

My title is inspired by the well-known quote attributed to Mother Theresa, “We can do no great things, only small things with great love.” I strive to live with this mentality, embracing and becoming more aware of the small things. As someone who often has high expectations for herself, I need to live by this mentality, or I will constantly be disappointed and eventually become disenchanted. The truth is, God is found in the small, everyday things that we do and that we witness. We need to remind ourselves to see the small things, and to join God in changing the world in our own small ways.

As for the changes in my life…since my last blog post in May 2011, I have gotten married to Josh, a fantastic man who happens to be a fantastic urban farmer. We have now been married for almost a year (our anniversary is in 2 weeks!) I have moved from my nice but somewhat lonely apartment to a row house, bordered by 2 other houses filled with members of our “new” intentional community (named “Our Place on Derry”). My sister and her husband also moved in with us in the spring. Josh started managing the Joshua Farm (no, it was not named after him…just a coincidence)! I have completed my Master’s of Social Work degree. I will be starting a new job soon as a school-based therapist- yay play therapy! Josh and I have adopted a cat (thanks to my little sis, Nieve, who first to decided to pick up Tiger Lily the kitten from a nearby farm the night of our rehearsal dinner). We have planted flowers and started a little garden in our backyard.

Needless to say, life is an experiment. We are constantly learning how to live better, how to love one another, our community, and ourselves better. Maybe a better way to say it is that life is an adventure!

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Beginning

  1. Love this Cala! Yes, life is an adventure…and your life in the past year definitely proves it. And of course, we know the next adventure is just around the corner. Makes life…adventurous!
    So true about the small things. If we can partner with God in something really big, well that’s great, but we definitely can partner in the small things. So we have to pay attention. If we’re not aware of them…and aware of Him and where He is showing up in the small things, well we surely miss out.
    Looking forward to reading more every week!
    Love!

Leave a Reply

