Nap Time

This weekend, my husband and I have a full house, thanks to family visiting. Five kids under five, plus three parents, and us. That’s a lot of people- a lot of laughter, tears, shrieks, giggles, and conversation.

Josh and I embrace people; we love to host. We love when family comes to visit! But this many people in one space can tire anyone out. So what does Josh’s family do? They nap.

This is a tradition in Josh’s family that I have always admired. My family is close-knit and has fun, exciting traditions coming out of our ears. We have exciting traditions for every holiday and every vacation, and we must fit them all in. But one thing we are not so good at, is taking a break. Napping. Ever since I began joining Josh on family vacations to Nebraska, early on in our dating years, I was shocked and amazed at this tradition. A little after lunch time each day, everyone in the family, down from his baby cousins up to his grandparents and everyone in between, would nap.

I have not always been a fan of napping. It seems like a waste of time during a busy day. And I have so much to do and so little time to get it done! I should be cleaning, doing laundry, catching up on my reading, my emails, and letters.

But just as we are rejuvenated if we actually obey that commandment about keeping the Sabbath holy, we are also rejuvenated with a nap. It’s like a mini Sabbath in the middle of the day. It’s why so many other cultures do the whole “siesta” thing, stopping work halfway through the day to enjoy a meal and, well, a nap.

I think this is one of the many things that we Americans can learn from other cultures that take things a bit slower. And this is one of the many things that I can learn from my in-laws!

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nap Time

  1. Michaelia says:

    I love this post! I never thought of our little breaks and sometimes naps as a family thing, but now that I think about it, we do nap an awful lot. I’m glad you like our family “tradition.”

  2. Rachel says:

    Now you understand why Josh is always falling asleep at family gatherings. 🙂

  3. micalagh says:

    Yes, it is definitely something I have enjoyed 🙂

Leave a Reply

