Musings on our backyard

I love our backyard. In the midst of a semi-busy city full of people and concrete, it feels like a refuge to me. In the front, it’s the loud chatter, the busy passing cars, the regular fighting and yelling, and laughing and blaring music. The backyard sometimes seems like a bit of an escape from all that. The green space is good for my soul, and my eyes. It’s a reminder for me of God’s peace and presence in the natural world, even in my tiny urban backyard. It’s also a reminder for me of community. When we moved into our house, the first thing we did (along with our neighbors) was peal back the metal fences on both sides, opening a pathway between our 3 houses. Borrowing a cup of the proverbial sugar (or curry powder) was made much easier, along with spontaneous catch-ups and congregating.

My husband and I began the season by doing lots of weeding and maintaining in our backyard, planting vegetables in a little plot and flowers in multi-colored pots. We began with high hopes of triumphing in our battle against the ever-expanding, flower-choking, growing, morning glories. By now, the beginning of autumn, there is no doubt that the morning glories have won. Their tangled weeds are wrapped around our fences, winding up each of our bushes and plants. And the truth is, morning glories are quite beautiful when they begin to bloom- purple, pink, and periwinkle ( my favorite color).  The morning glories plus the large exotic-looking red flowered plant (my husband, the farmer, knows the name of it…I do not) give the backyard a sort of jungle-feel, and sometimes I am transported to some other tropical place when I sit back there.Each morning as I walk out the back door, I admire this resilient weed that has managed to transform our backyard into a jungle, has added a color and softness to the barbed wire fence neighboring our yard.

I am learning about saying no, accepting my limits of time and space and ability. I am learning that sometimes (or more like usually) I do not have enough time for all of the things I want to do. Sometimes I must sit back, and let the backyard be transformed into a jungle, and sometimes that is okay.

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Musings on our backyard

  1. Love this Cala. Sometimes we have to sit back and just Let. It. Go. And that might mean the morning glories might take over, which they will, cuz they do, as I know from my own beautiful morning glories. But sitting back, letting go, releasing the things not done can be a necessary and blessed thing. We need to rest! Couldn’f figure out how to subscribe? Love!

Leave a Reply

