Snow

After a snowstorm on Friday afternoon, the city was dusted with white, sparkly snow, making it look very romantic. I am a lover of snow, not just because it caused my school to close early on Friday afternoon and all day today, but also because there is something mysterious about it. It is beautiful, makes you want to rest, and curl up by a fire. Even though the fireplace is nonexistent in our house, I still like to pretend sometimes that I am sitting by the fire in my cozy living room. As today is a snow day, I have been doing just that, with a pot of tea, of course.

I love that snow seems to have the power to transform- even for a few hours- a somewhat dirty city into something seemingly pristine and innocent. And it changes not only landscape, but people too. I remember being struck by the difference snow made in people when I first moved into the city. No longer were doors shut and everyone inside, but neighbors were outside, helping to shovel one another’s sidewalks. Children were bundled up playing in the snow, and sometimes tough teenagers and even adults followed suit. In a city, snow brings people together.

Snow also reminds us that we need to slow down. We can’t rush around when it’s snowy and icy outside. Events and outings are cancelled, and our busyness must cease for a moment, sometimes for a day. Even if we must go out, we cannot speed from one place to another. It’s times like these that we must be attentive to what God’s creation is telling us; it is so often that we don’t listen:

Slow down,

listen,

play,

love your neighbors,

enjoy the season,

be in the moment. 

100_1139

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow

  1. Amanda Arbour says:

    I love this, Cale – what a good reminder!! 🙂

  2. Love this one! Especially as we wait expectantly for another snowfall!!

Leave a Reply

