Five Minute Friday: Rhythm

I’m participating in Five minute Friday (from Lisa Jo Baker’s blog) today…for the first time! I think this is good practice for me…it’s been quite a while since I’ve done freewriting. So here I go…

Rhythm. Dancing, singing, music. We grew up singing in my house, every family car trip we devoted at least an hour or so to “Family songs.” We would all join in- brothers, sisters, Mom, and Dad, singing lots of Peter, Paul, and Mary. 

The rhythm of those songs stay in my head, years later. I still know all of the words. The songs bring me back to long car trips, where, for an hour or so, my sister and I took a break from the arguing and the poking and the squabbling, and just sang. 

Singing is still important to me, though I don’t do it as often as I’d like. I never really learned how to play the guitar, and I am not the best dancer. But the rhythm of those family songs stays in my head, connecting me to my past, and reminding me of a hopeful future of continuing the tradition with my own children. 

STOP

 

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Minute Friday: Rhythm

  1. Oh I just love you! And I love your About and new picture!! Isn’t the Five Minute Friday fun? I have fallen off the blogging wagon this past couple of weeks with all that’s going on. Gotta find a new rhythm. Oh look at that…that would be the theme of the five minute Friday!! Maybe I’ll go do that now, even though it’s Saturday.

  2. Amanda Arbour says:

    LOVE this, Cale! 🙂

  3. So did you link up? I didn’t see you there…

  4. Emily says:

    I think you’re a great dancer…

Leave a Reply

