Sacred Places

ImageI have been trying to find my “sacred spot” in my new home. Yes, I know that God is everywhere; I know that there is not one specific spot where I can find God. But in my life, I have found places where I feel more connected to God, places that feel sacred, where prayer seems to flow a little easier. While I certainly feel close to God in church, in communal worship, I have often found these places to be in nature- outside church walls, or any walls at all.

In Harrisburg, the river was one such place for me. Almost without fail, I knew that I would be able to connect with God, to pray, walking along the banks of the Susquehanna. The gently flowing, blue grayish water contrasted with the sky and the green foliage feels meditative, calming for me. I have seen breathtaking, colorful sunsets on that river, I have watched impending storms roll in from up north of the river, darkening the hillsides, I have watched snow fall along the icy river, partially frozen, and I have allowed the peace of the river to enter my soul on a bright, sunny day.

Here in the Belizean jungle, I am surrounded by nature: verdant, green leaves, tall, towering trees, vibrant red and pink flowers cascading. I have been enjoying my morning “quiet time” with a cup of tea at the palapa by our house. I am reading a favorite devotional book, called “Places Along the Way” by Martin and Micah Marty. It is good to have this routine in a new place; it is comforting. And yet, while I enjoy this time, I have still been looking for my sacred spot.

Today, as I went to feed the chickens (in place of Josh, who is under the weather), I was lured up to the second floor deck of one of the buildings on campus. It was lightly raining, and the hammock, overlooking the jungle in the rain, looked so inviting. I lay in the hammock, and found that prayer came naturally as I listened to the rain fall. Perhaps I have found my sacred place…but I look forward to continue exploring! 

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

