Sowing Seeds is an Act of Faith

In the morning sow your seed, and at evening withhold not your hand, for you do not know which will prosper, this or that, or whether both alike will be good. (Ecc. 11:6, ESV)

At the end of the school year, I was having a conversation with a teacher at one of the schools where I worked as a social worker. We were talking about a student who has had a difficult year academically, and was struggling to keep up with her classmates. She had been in danger of failing fifth grade. I inquired about whether or not she had passed in the end. “Yes, I passed her on,” the teacher replied, and started walking away.

He stopped for a moment and turned back to look at me to further explain,

“You can plant seeds at the same time, but they won’t all come up at the same time.”

I’m guest-posting on Circles of Faith today, so come read the rest here! 

 

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

