Back

It has been several months since I’ve written. I can justify by saying that I had moved to a foreign country and was going through a difficult time (which is true), that the internet was frustrating here (oh, it is), that I had little motivation or inspiration to write (yup), or that I was unsure how to shift the focus of my blog once my life changed drastically in my move to Belize (working on it).

Regardless of those justifications, I want to start writing again; it is important for me to start writing again in this venue.

So, I am back. I have survived my first semester of working for a study abroad program in Belize. I have survived my first Christmas away from home- in 29 years. And I have survived some of the ups and downs of getting used to living in a new country (I have no doubt there are more to come).

I have often characteristically over-analyzed what I write on the blog, which I think has stopped me from writing as much as I should. I wanted to make sure that what I was writing connected to my audience- whoever that was.

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to stop with (or at least become more aware of) the “shoulds,” to lessen the high expectations I put on myself and others.  Writing again is part of this resolution. Rather than always over-thinking what I am writing, how it fits into the subject of my blog, how other will interpret it, etc., etc., I will hopefully share more about what is going on with me, in me, around me. I will possibly even have some pictures, if I can actually get them to upload without crashing the campus internet. I want to process more of this phase in my life, what I am learning here, and perhaps, what it means.

And just maybe, it will shed light on life’s meaning for others as well.

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Struggles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back

  1. Welcome back to the blogsphere, Cale 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    So happy that you are back to writing. Reading your blog is like opening a opening a gift. I can;t describe to you how I connect with your writings, it’s like you’re reading my mind. I especially like a blog about the women in your life and the significance they’ve had in raising you. I feel exactly the same about my mom and aunts. I’m really looking forward to opening many more emails that remind me to take the time to reflect on all the great people in my life.

  3. Emily says:

    you are starlight….keep shedding that light my friend!

  4. shelagh says:

    I love your writing Cale. Just went back and read a few older posts. The jungle in your backyard was most certainly a foreshadow. I hope you are enjoying a cup of morning tea in your new jungle. Keep writing please.

  5. Oh so happy you’re back. I love your writing. It makes me feel connected to you and I so appreciate your insights. So yay! And now let’s get on the phone together. Love you so!

Leave a Reply

