Finding Balance

At the end of spring semester, once students and staff left and Josh and I had time to step back a bit, I recognized that I was very out of balance. It had been a crazy semester for many reasons, and I did not have time for some of the things that make me feel like me. Things like:

-Yoga (I was teaching courses that met at the time my local yoga class was, and I didn’t take the time to do it on my own)

-Journaling

-Regular prayer and meditation time

-Blogging (as evidenced by the fact that I have not posted since the day before Easter)

-Confiding in friends at home

-Making new friends, investing in those around me

-Getting involved in the community

The semester has been over now for a month (hard to believe!), and I am getting back into those practices and more. It helps me to have a list to remind me of the things I need to do to keep in balance. It also helps to have friends, and a husband, who also remind me of these things.

I am particularly fortunate to have about a month where I can set my own schedule for getting work done. My goal this month is to try balancing work with investing in relationships in a place that still feels new, getting involved in the community, writing, connecting with friends and family. Even writing this helps me keep these things in mind!

What are things you do to keep in balance?

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Struggles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Balance

  1. Glad that you’re getting back into these healthy rhythmns, Cale – and I will always try to remind you to go back to your list when it’s harder to remember! 🙂

Leave a Reply

