Present

My one word for the New Year is “present.” I have followed my aunt’s lead to choose a new word for each year- a kind of spin on a New Year’s resolution with less pressure and more freedom to explore and interpret.

The last season in my life was very busy, and lots of big changes happened very fast- ending a semester, leaving my job, moving from Belize to the U.S. I didn’t have the time to be as present in the moment as I wanted to be.

Now, my husband and I are back in the US expecting a new baby in April. We have lots of thoughts, plans, dreams for the future, and many uncertainties. But this year, I want to go slow. I need to go slow. I need to enjoy and be here for the season of pregnancy that feels like it’s going faster and faster. I need to savor the pre-baby time with myself and my husband, and prepare for life with baby. I need to ease back into North American life and culture, without feeling like I have to rush into the frenzy.

Winter helps. I don’t feel as much urgency to run around and get things done, I can take a slower pace. It feels like a slower time to hibernate, reflect, think, and plan.

So, for 2015, here’s to being “present,” and taking the time to learn what that means!10421533_994724258004_1726330416365327452_n

About micalagh

I am a writer, a social worker, a therapist, a wife, a sister, a daughter, a soon-to-be mother...I am continually growing and learning in each of these roles. I am seeking to learn how to love others better and to enjoy the small things of life, to see God in everything and everyone around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Present

  1. Great thoughts! I pray you would experience presence abundantly. Love you!

  2. Simply Beth says:

    Many blessing as you prepare to welcome your new baby. And I so agree . . . while I am not fond of the cold, the winter months do bring about a less sense of emergency. It just feels quieter and a bit easier to be present.

Leave a Reply

